



K-12 Administrators Committee

1. Name

1.1 The name of the committee will be the K-12 Administrators Committee of the Texas Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance (TAHPERD).

2. Purpose

- 2.1. The K-12 Administrator of the Year Award honors those individuals who have dedicated themselves to excellence as administrators or supervisors, in contributions to their profession, and in service to the mission of TAHPERD. These individuals exemplify the highest standards in accomplishment and innovation, and in strong and vigorous leadership.
- 2.1 The purpose of the K-12 Administrators Committee is to select the individual to receive the K-12 Administrator of the Year Award.

3. Organization

- 3.1 The committee will be organized as a standing committee of the Association.
- 3.2 The committee will consist of nine (9) voting members including the Chair. Members shall be the three Chairs of the Elementary and Secondary School Administrators Section, the three Vice-Presidents of the General Division, and three At-Large members appointed by the President-elect.
- 3.3. The Chair shall be the Past Vice-President of the General Division.

4. Operation

- 4.1 The committee shall be responsible for soliciting nominations for the K-12 Administrator of the Year Award.
- 4.2 Upon receipt of formal nomination packets from the TAHPERD Office, members willbe responsible for the selection of the K-12 Administrator of the Year Award recipient.

5. Criteria – candidates must:

- 5.1 Be a current TAHPERD member for at least the five (5) years immediately preceding nomination for the award.
- 5.2 Serve as a K-12 administrator/supervisor of the disciplines for health, physical education, recreation, an/or dance for five (5) or more years.
- 5.3 Demonstrate leadership in K-12 HPERD disciplines at the local and state levels.
- 5.4 Demonstrate advocacy for quality education in the HPERD disciplines.
- 5.5 Demonstrate significant contributions to:
 - 5.5.1 Curriculum development
 - 5.5.2 Technology
 - 5.5.3 Innovation
 - 5.5.4 Staff development
 - 5.5.5 Program improvement
 - 5.5.6 Resource development in HPERD disciplines
- 5.6 Provide three (3) letters of recommendation from employers, colleagues, and/orprominent

persons in the profession.

6 Nomination/Application

- 6.1 Requests for nominations are to be published in the Spring issue of the *Texas HPERD Journal*, E-newsletter, and through announcements at the TAHPERD Convention, Leadership Conference, and on the TAHPERD website.
- 6.2 At the time of nomination, nominees must have been members of TAHPERD forfive (5) years.
- 6.3 Any educator/professional member who meets the criteria outlined may apply personally for the awards or be nominated by a TAHPERD member colleague.
- 6.4 Nominations must be submitted to the TAHPERD Office online at the TAHPERD website.
- 6.5 Additional data must be submitted upon request to the K-12 Administrators Committee Chair.
- 6.6 Current members of the K-12 Administrators Committee are not eligible as candidates.
- 6.7 See the Operating Code of the Awards Committee for a timeline for nominations, balloting, and notification of award recipients.
- 6.8 Descriptions of the award recipients are to be published in the Fall issue of the *Texas HPERD Journal*.
- 6.9
- 7 <u>Committee members shall rate each candidate from one to ten (1-10) on each of the nine (9)</u> <u>credential categories. The highest possible score for all nine qualifications would be ninety</u> (90) points.
 - 7.1. The Chair will tabulate the ratings of the committee and select the candidate with the highest average rating. To receive the award, a candidate must have an average rating of 76.5 points or better equaling an 85% or higher average.
 - 7.2. If two (2) or more persons are tied for first (1st) place, the Chair will send the names of these candidates to the committee members for ranking. All candidates must be ranked. No more than one (1) person may be selected each year for the K-12 Administrator of the Year Award.

Adopted by the Board of Directors: April 2007 Adopted by the Representative Assembly: November 2007

Amended: December 2012