

# Collaborate Innovate 2023

## Industry-Research Collaboration for Australian Prosperity and Sustainability

12:30pm-3:30pm	Workshop: Chairs and Boards in Industry-Research Collaboration
Hall L	A special session for board members and prospective board members of industry-research collaborative entities.
	Join with colleagues to discuss governance best practice, cybersecurity, transitions, engaging with Government, AI and disrupted futures.
	David Thodey AO, Tyro Payments
	Christian Gergis, Australian Institute of Company Directors Professor Helge Janicke, Cyber Security CRC
	Dr Ian Martinus, Cyber Security CRC
	Chair: Belinda Robinson, Cooperative Research Australia
	This workshop will feature the practical Cyber Security Board Game, presented by the Cyber Security CRC. Corporates Compromised is a highly engaging, facilitated board game run by the Cyber Security Cooperative Research Centre (CSCRC) - that's the first of its kind in Australia.
	The strategic game provides a team of up to 10 participants the opportunity to learn about cybersecurity concepts, in a safe space.
	It's facilitated by a trained instructor who coaches and guides the discussion, allowing participants to explore and discuss complex issues within the safety of a fictional story.

### MONDAY 10 July

	The result – players are exposed to potential cybersecurity risks and scenarios that could impact their own organisations, better preparing them to deal with those situations in the real world.
12:30pm-2:00pm	Workshop Series
Riverbank Room 5	CRC Program – Everything you want to know about applying (Joint Workshop with DISR)
Riverbank Room 6	Chris Gonzalez, Department of Industry, Science and Resources Justine Murphy, Department of Industry, Science and Resources Julia O'Callaghan, Defendtex Professor Mike Stewardson, One Basin CRC Chair: Jane O'Dwyer, Cooperative Research Australia CRC Legacy and Transition: Uncovering your hidden assets to deliver
	value in transition (Presented by SPP) Noel Leung, SPP Craig Lofts, SPP Leeanne Bond, Mining3
2:00pm-2:30pm	Afternoon tea
2:30pm-4:00pm Riverbank Room 6a Riverbank Room 5 Riverbank Room 6b Riverbank Room 8a Riverbank Room 8b	CRA Member Communities-Of-Practice and Interest Group Meetings CEO's Business Managers and COO's Research Leaders Education Leaders Research Institution Collaboration Network
4:30pm-5:30pm	Conference Opening featuring the Early Career Research Competition Presented by the University of South Australia
Hall L	An annual highlight as the very best industry-focused Early Career Researchers pitch their work to an expert audience.
	Belinda Robinson, Cooperative Research Australia Professor Carolin Plewa, University of Adelaide Professor David Giles, University of South Australia
	Early Career Researcher Finalists: Bhavya Mod, University of Newcastle/Soil CRC Fadia Issac, Federation University/Natural Hazards Research Australia Zoe Piper, Australian National University David Li, University of Sydney/iMove CRC

5:30pm-6:30pm	Welcome Reception
	Presented by the University of South Australia
Halls M&N	
	Jane O'Dwyer, CRA
	Mr Peter Stevens, University of South Australia
	Hon Susan Close MP, Deputy Premier of South Australia

## **TUESDAY 11 July**

9:00am-11:00am	Opening Plenary		
Hall L	MC: Jess Adamson		
	Welcome: Jane O'Dwyer, Cooperative Research Australia		
	Welcome to Country: Cliffy Wilson		
	Keynote Address: Professor Laura Parry, University of Adelaide		
	Ministerial Address: Hon Ed Husic MP, Minister for Industry and Science		
	Opening Plenary Industry-Research Success Stories		
	David Chuter, IMCRC		
	Dr Leanna Read, Carina Biotech, Techcyte, and UniSeed		
	Professor Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem, University of Adelaide		
	Chair: Ian Christensen,	iMove CRC	
11:00am-11:30am	Morning tea – Hall M&N		
11:30am-12:30pm	STREAM 1	STREAM 2	STREAM 3
	Business of Collaborative	Industry-Research Partnerships	Workforce
	Research	i urtherships	
		Maturity Models for	Disrupting the
	Managing Complex	Successful Industry –	Disrupters – the
	Partnerships Hall L	Research Collaboration	Impact of AI Riverbank Room 6
		Riverbank Room 5	Riverballk Room o
	Paul Victory, Tourism		Dr Paul Dalby,
	CRC Bid	Professor Calum	Rozetta Institute
	<b>Dr Bill Lilley</b> , Race for	Drummond AO, RMIT	Dr Denis Bauer,
	2030 CRC	<b>Jenny Selway</b> , HILT CRC	CSIRO
	Mark Stickells,		Chair: Simon Lucey,
	Pawsey	Chair: Professor	Australian Centre for
	Supercomputing Centre	<b>David Giles</b> , MinEX CRC	Machine Learning
	Chair: Belinda		
	Robinson, CRA		

12:30pm-2:00pm	Lunch – Hall M&N		
2:00pm-3:15pm	STREAM 1 Business of Collaborative Research	STREAM 2 Industry-Research Partnerships	STREAM 3 Workforce
	Pathways to commercialisation and scale-up Hall L	International Approaches and Opportunities <b>Riverbank Room 5</b>	The Intermediaries - Australia's Critical Workforce <b>Riverbank Room 6</b>
	<b>Dr Deborah Rathjen</b> , Carina Biotech	<b>Stephen Lysaght</b> , Consul General of the UK	<b>Lee-Ann Breger</b> , iMove Australia
	<b>Adrian Beer</b> , METS Ignited	Kathleen Lively, Consul General of the	<b>Quin Chang</b> , La Trobe University
	<b>Dr Annita Nugent</b> , IP Australia	US Chair: Patricia Kelly,	<b>Dr Sheida Hadavi</b> , Australian Data Research Commons
	Chair: Michael Bromley, Stone and Chalk	CRA Board and Australian SKA Regional Centre	<b>Chair: Dr Thomas</b> <b>Ting</b> , Department of Education
3:15pm-3:45pm	Afternoon tea – Hall M&N		
3:45pm-4:45pm	Advanced Strategic Capabilities Accelerator Briefing		
Riverbank Room 5	Professor Emily Hilder, Defence Science and Technology Jane O'Dwyer, Cooperative Research Australia		
6:00pm-9:30pm Hall C&D	Gala Dinner and Awards for Excellence in Innovation.Presented by the Department of Industry, Science and ResourcesAwards presented by UNSW		
	Professor Marnie Hug	Millen, Chief Scientist of hes-Warrington, UniSA hent of Industry, Science a k, UNSW	

#### WEDNESDAY 12 July

7:30am-8:30am	Breakfast In-Conversation
	The Pulse of the Nation: What is the Political Mood
Panorama Rooms	

	Professor Ben Edwards, ANU centre for Social Research and Methods Karen Middleton, The Saturday Paper Jane O'Dwyer, CRA	
9:00am-10:15am	Voices from Across Industry-Research Collaboration	
Hall L	Julia O'Callaghan, Defendtex Annette Schmiede, Digital Health CRC Darin Lovett, iLaunch Trailblazer Chair: Professor Michael Goodsite, University of Adelaide	
10:15am-10:45am	Opposition Address	
Hall L	Hon Paul Fletcher MP, Shadow Minister for Science and Innovation	
10:45am-11:15am	Morning tea – Hall M&N	
11:15 am-12:30pm	Business of Collaborative Research	Industry-Research Partnerships
	Transitions from Translation to Commercialisation and Scale-up – Two Case studies Hall L	Aligning national priorities and capability Riverbank Room 5 & 6 Dr Jill Freyne, CSIRO
	<b>Dr Justin Coombs</b> , Marine Bioproduct CRC	Dr Tim Boyle, ANSTO
	<b>Professor Simon Barry</b> , Carina Biotech	<b>Professor Tanya Monro AC,</b> Chief Defence Scientist
	<b>Dr Sanjay Mazumdar</b> , Defence Trailblazer	<b>Chair: Cathy Foley AO</b> , Chief Scientist of Australia
	Dr Brenton Cooper, Fivecast	
	<b>Chair: Professor Caroline</b> <b>McMillen</b> , Chief Scientist of South Australia	
12:30pm-2:00pm	Lunch – Hall M&N	
2:00pm-3:00pm	Transforming Australia: What will it take?	
Hall L	Dr Leanna Read, Carina Biotech and Techcyte Dr Alex Cooke, CSIRO Clare Tubolets, Smartcrete Chair: Professor Roy Green, UTS	

3:00pm-3:30pm	Afternoon tea – Hall M&N

**Conference Close**