

Adelaide Protein Group: an ASBMB Special Interest Group



The Adelaide Protein Group (APG) was founded in 2008 to unite South Australian researchers with similar interests in protein science. Our aim is to foster new relationships, engage in academic collaboration, share research among peers and promote emerging and esteemed Adelaide researchers. The APG committee and members are broadly represented, comprised of individuals from the University of Adelaide (UoA), University of South Australia (UniSA), Flinders University, South Australian Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI) and the Centre for Cancer Biology (CCB).

The APG continues to find new ways to bring together Adelaide's brightest minds in protein science and showcase the excellent work being performed by students and early—mid career researchers (EMCRs).

On 29 July 2022, we held our inaugural Big Protein Quiz Night – and judging on feedback, it was a standout success! The event was attended by over 50 undergraduate students, postgraduate students, EMCRs and faculty members from different institutions.

In addition to being an entertaining, trivia-focussed event, it was great to see attendees (especially undergraduate students) networking with their peers and getting to know faculty members in a social environment.



Big Protein Quiz Night 2022. Committee member, Kimberley McLean, was quizmaster and resident GFP.

Adelaide Protein Group: an ASBMB Special Interest Group

South Australia is a blooming hub for biomedical research, with researchers from the three major universities and research-only institutions producing primary research that regularly pushes respective fields further. To celebrate this work, the APG holds an annual Awards Fest where students and EMCRs can present their work and are eligible for numerous prizes. In 2021, we were honoured to have Professor Trevor Lithgow (Monash University) as our keynote speaker. Dr Nan (Andrew) Hao won the 2021 EMCR award and presented ground-breaking synthetic biology research at ComBio2022 with support from the ASBMB.

After several months of unforeseen delays, the 2022 Awards Fest and annual general meeting took place on 3 November at the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute. We were delighted to host Professor Leann Tilley (University of Melbourne) as a keynote speaker, who gave an excellent talk 'Hijacking proteostasis for the development of anti-infectives'. Leann shared her career journey, beginning as a young postdoc in Europe to where she is today, and the hurdles that had to be overcome as a woman in science.



Leann Tilley, keynote speaker at the 2022 APG Awards Fest. Photos: Erin Brazel.

We had an excellent lineup of presentations from our students and ECRs covering herbicidal development, gene editing technology and novel peptide synthesis approaches. Congratulations to the presentation awardees, Dr Emma Watson (ECR), Ashleigh Geiger (Student) and Alice Ascari (People's Choice Award), and poster awardees, Alison Roennfeldt and Jill Chmielewski. Thank you to the presentation judges, Leann Tilley, Fiona Whelan, Nan Hao and Bart Eijkelkamp.

At the annual general meeting, outgoing APG Chairperson, Dr Blagojce (BJ) Jovcevski, thanked the ASBMB and sponsors for generous financial support and the committee for their hard work. Bethiney Vandborg was nominated as the new APG Chairperson. We also



APG Awards Fest awardees, from left: Alison Roennfeldt, Emma Watson, Ashleigh Geiger, Leann Tilley (keynote speaker), Alice Ascari, Jill Chmielewski and John Abbenante (BMG Labtech, gold sponsor).

welcomed new Executive Committee members, Alix Harlington, Josh Chey, Emma Mao and Tace Conlin. Thank you to our outgoing Committee Members, Dr Lauren Thurgood and Dr Felise Adams. We look forward to another year of great events and excellent protein science in 2023!

APG Executive Committee

Chair: Bethiney Vandborg

Treasurer/Sponsorship: Officer Kimberley McLean

Secretary: Alix Harlington

ASBMB Liaison Officer: Daniel McDougal

Webmaster: Michael Roach Events Coordinator: Josh Chey

Promotions and Social Media Officers: Tace Conlin and

Emma Mao

General Committee Member: Erin Brazel

Daniel McDougal, ASBMB Liaison Officer, APG
Web www.apg.asn.au
Twitter @AdelaideProtein
Email apg.asbmb@gmail.com



APG Executive Committee members in attendance at the 2022 APG Awards Fest, from left: Daniel McDougal, Emma Mao, Erin Brazel, Leann Tilley (keynote speaker), Bethiney Vandborg, Tace Conlin, Blagojce Jovcevski, Joshua Chey and Kimberley McLean.