Queensland Protein Group: an ASBMB Special Interest Group



The Queensland Protein Group (QPG) was established in 1987 and operates under a constitution accepted in 2004. The QPG committee comprises members from a range of institutions including the University Queensland (UQ), Queensland University of Technology (QUT), Griffith University (Nathan and Gold Coast campuses) the Queensland and Institute of Medical

Research. The current QPG Office Bearers are Brett Collins (President), Mehdi Mobli (Secretary), Thomas Ve (Treasurer) and Michael Landsberg (IT Officer). General committee members include Bostjan Kobe, Yanni Chin, and Glenn King.

The primary activities of the QPG are in coordinating the biannual East Coast Protein Meeting (ECPM) together with our sister group the Sydney Protein Group, and to organise annual symposia for early career researchers and students in Queensland protein science. Sadly, in 2021 the mutual decision was made that ECPM will be postponed until next year due to COVID-19 and scheduling conflicts. However, we are very excited at the idea that we might be able to all get together face-to-face again next year at the usual Coffs Harbour venue to see all of the great protein science research being done by our early career protein scientists!

The goal of the ECPM is to provide a forum for postdocs and students to present their work in any protein-related field; with a high ratio of oral presentations by graduate students and postdocs to traditional presentations by senior scientists. At the 2019 meeting, Associate Professor Denise Wootten (Monash University) and Professor Colin Jackson (ANU) gave plenary lectures. The meeting included an ECR Career advice session with plenary speakers such as Sylvia Johnson from BMG Labtech, and various student and postdoc talk and poster prizes.

ASBMB QPG Travel Award – Lin Luo, IMB, UQ
ASBMB SPG Travel Award – James Walshe, Victor
Chang Cardiac Research Institute
Student Travel Award – Michael Healy, IMB, UQ
Student Travel Award – Megan Cherry, University of
Wollongong

John Morris Student Travel Award – Khushboo Patel, UQ Formulatrix Student Travel Award – KM Rifat Faysal, UNSW

Best Student Poster - Ryan Hall, IMB, UQ

Best Student Poster – Olivia Tan, Griffith University Best Postdoc Poster – Adam Damry, ANU Best Student Talk – Gurleen Kaur, University of Wollongong

Best Student Talk – Shelley Barfoot, UQ
Best Postdoc Talk – Andrew Walker, IMB, UQ



2019 East Coast Protein Meeting attendees.



2019 East Coast Protein Meeting student and postdoctoral prizewinners.

In November 2021, the QPG will be hosting a local student and postdoctoral awards symposium (details to be announced). Most importantly, QPG is keen to bring new young scientists to the Executive and Organising Committee of our Special Interest Group. The symposium will be an opportunity to elect new office bearers, and to bring more people into the regular committee so we will be very keen to hear from people interested in taking on these roles to continue the QPG traditions and activities into the future.

Brett Collins, QPG President
b.collins@imb.uq.edu.au
Website https://www.asbmb.org.au/
special-interest-groups/
queensland-protein-group/
Twitter @QueenslandProt1