AUSTRALIAN SOCIETY FOR BIOCHEMISTRY AND MOLECULAR BIOLOGY INC <u>Minutes from 66th Annual General Meeting</u>

The 66th Annual General Meeting of the Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Inc. was held from 18:05-18:42 hours (AEST) on Thursday 29th September 2022 at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Goldfields Theatre.

A quorum was reached with 33 members in attendance.

Dominic Ng (Secretary) chaired proceedings and began with Acknowledgement of Country.

1. **Apologies**: None were received.

2. Confirmation of the minutes of Annual General Meeting No 65.

Motion to put forward the minutes of 65th AGM for confirmation by Leann Tilley and seconded by Mike Ryan. The minutes were confirmed and noted.

3. Elections to Council (Voting)

A live vote was initiated online amongst members in attendance for the Council position of FAOBMB Representative, with nominations received for Marc Kvansakul and Nirma Samawickrema.

4. **President's Report**

Jacqui Matthews (President) delivered the President's Report and began with update on upcoming meetings for our society. Plans for ASBMB 2023 in Canberra with Colin Jackson organizing and a combined congress with IUBMB and FAOBMB in 2024 with Leann Tilley as convenor are well advanced. Future meetings in 2025, 2026 and 2027 earmarked for Brisbane, Sydney and Adelaide. Long-standing (50 year) members of our society, several in attendance and recognized at ComBio2022, were again acknowledged during the AGM. Jacqui also summarized current membership numbers and this has remained relatively unchanged for several years. The ASBMB membership saw a slight increase over the past year: 911 total members in 2021-2022 compared to 889 in 2020-2021. Our annual meetings are major drive of membership renewals and this appears continued with a healthy attendance at ComBio2022.

The long-standing contributions of Sally Jay Conferences as conference organizer and society secretariat, spanning 3 decades, was acknowledged and the society expresses their appreciation and thanks to Sally and Chris for their dedicated service to ASBMB. Plans to transition to Waldron Smith Management who will take over conference organization and society administration for the society were outlined. Jacqui thanked the executive and rest of council including all of our state reps for keeping things running. This was Jacqui's final report as Ross Hannan commences his term as society president in 2023. The ASBMB thanked Jacqui for her leadership and welcomes Ross as President.

5. Treasurer's Report

The following summary of ASBMB's financial position was presented by Marc Kvansakul.

Overall financial position of the Society has significantly improved compared to that of 2021.

- Revenue was up \$9,813 in 2021-2022 due to FAOBMB2021
- Expenditure down \$2,740 in the same period

2021-2022 financial year showed an operating profit estimated \$7,540. 2020-2021 financial year showed an operating loss of \$5,013.

Items to note:

- ASBMB only meeting are unlikely to be a major driver of income for the society, and we will need to adjust meeting formats to adapt to this. With the Canberra meeting up next year the cost of the meeting need to be very closely watched to avoid an outcome similar to Perth 2019.
- COMBIO2022 in Melbourne provided a timely injection of funds, and with the IUBMB conference in 2024 this should further improve our financial position.

We need to sustain or increase membership base and to ensure both the long-term viability and profitability of Combio/ASBMB meetings

5. Fees for 2021/2022

Membership fees for the year 1 July 2023 to 30 June 2024 2% CPI Increase

| | 2021/22 | 2022/23 | (3 yr) |
|---------------------|---------|---------|--------|
| Ordinary Members: | \$140 | \$145 | \$ 350 |
| Student Members: | \$45 | \$45 | \$100 |
| Sustaining Members: | \$423 | \$423 | \$1015 |
| Retired Members: | \$60 | \$65 | \$150 |
| Member O/S: | \$66 | \$70 | \$160 |

Membership fees were increased to keep pace with inflation with the exception of student rates. This was kept unchanged and a generous 3 year discounted rate was introduced to encourage student membership. A motion to apply the above fees for next membership cycle put forward by Terry Piva and seconded by Briony Forbes. The motion was confirmed and passed.

Marc concluded his last AGM as treasurer by thanking Brian Hiley at Priestleys, Ian Price, Sally & Chris Jay and introducing Kate Quinlan as the incoming treasurer going forward. The society thanked Mark for his prudent tenure as treasurer welcomes Kate.

6. Elections to Council (Results)

Nirma Samarawickrema received the majority of votes (combination of in-room online voting and proxy votes) for the position of FAOBMB Representative for 2023. Single nominations were received for all other positions on Council. Red text highlight new members of ASBMB Council for 2023. Thanks were given for the service of retiring Council Members; Marc Kvansakul, Nirma Samarawickrema and Melissa Pitman. In particular the society acknowledged the contributions of Terry Piva who has served on council since 2013, first as Treasurer and then as FAOBMB Rep.

President Past-President Secretary Ross Hannan Jacqui Matthews Dominic Ng Treasurer Editor and Communications Education Rep Secretary for Sust. Members FAOBMB Representative Kate Quinlan (Marc Kvansakul retiring) Tatiana Soares da Costa Tracey Kuit (Nirma Samarawickrema retiring) Sally Jay Nirma Samarawickrema (Terry Piva retiring)

Representatives for:

| ACT | Christina Spry |
|-----|---|
| NSW | Laura Sharpe |
| Qld | Michael Landsberg |
| SA | Michael Roach (Melissa Pitman retiring) |
| Tas | Iman Azimi |
| Vic | Laura Osellame |
| WA | Alyssa Van Druemel |

7. ASBMB Awards 2022.

Congratulations were given to society award winners:

| Lemberg Medal: | Leann Tilley |
|---------------------------------|--|
| Shimadzu Research Medal: | Michael Lazarou |
| Eppendorf Edman Award: | Wael Awad |
| SDR Scientific Education Award: | Saw Hoon Lim |
| ASBMB Fellowships Awards: | Yanxian Meng (Fred Collins), Jacinta Conroy, Chris Horne and Tess Malcolm |

Members were encouraged to apply for 2023 awards with nominations due by 4th November 2022. Members were reminded that Boomerang Award was reinstated with the resumption of international travel.

8. Any other business.

None were raised.

The meeting was adjourned at 18:42.

JAULANS JACQUI MATTHEWS (President)