





Monday 4 September		
6.30 pm – 10.30 pm	Australian Minerals Industry Parliamentary Dinner Great Hall, Parliament House	

Tuesday 5 September		
1.00 pm – 1.30 pm	MW registration and lunch Venue: Atrium, Hyatt Hotel Canberra	
1.30 pm – 1.45 pm	Welcome address  Tania Constable Chief Executive Officer Minerals Council of Australia Venue: Federation Ballroom, Hyatt Hotel Canberra	
1.45 pm – 2.30 pm	Keynote address + moderated discussion  Transition from today to tomorrow – a world of no trendlines  Viktor Shvets Head of Global and Asia Pacific Strategy Macquarie Group  John Kehoe (Facilitator) Economics Editor Australian Financial Review  Chair: Geraldine Slattery, President Australia, BHP  Venue: Federation Ballroom, Hyatt Hotel Canberra	
2.30 pm – 3.00 pm	Keynote address  Supply chain critical minerals – securing future energy  Robyn Denholm Chair Tesla  Chair: Jamie Frankcombe, President – Australian Operations, Peabody  Venue: Federation Ballroom, Hyatt Hotel Canberra	







3.00 pm – 3.30 pm	Keynote address
	Resourcing tomorrow, creating value for society – the Newmont perspective
	Tom Palmer President and Chief Executive Officer Newmont
	Chair: Jamie Frankcombe, President – Australian Operations, Peabody
	Venue: Federation Ballroom, Hyatt Hotel Canberra
3.30 pm – 3.45 pm	Afternoon Tea
3.45 pm – 4.30 pm	Keynote address + discussion
	Minerals and metals for the global transition to net zero - the challenge and opportunity
	Associate Research Professor Simon Michaux Geological Survey of Finland
	Chair: Paul Richards, Head of Resources, Energy & Infrastructure, ANZ
	Venue: Federation Ballroom, Hyatt Hotel Canberra
4.30 pm – 5.15pm	Keynote address + discussion + report launch
	Future critical: meeting the minerals investment challenge
	Michael Brennan Chair Productivity Commission
	David Pearce Principal & Executive Director The Centre for International Economics
	Chair: Sherry Duhe, Interim Chief Executive Officer, Newcrest Australia
	Venue: Federation Ballroom, Hyatt Hotel Canberra
5.15 pm – 5.30 pm	Close day 1
	Sid Marris Deputy Chief Executive Officer Minerals Council of Australia
	Venue: Federation Ballroom, Hyatt Hotel Canberra
6.00 pm – 9.00 pm	BHP Women in Resources National Awards 2023
	National Portrait Gallery, Canberra



A critical industry. A critical opportunity.



## Wednesday 6 September

Wednesday 6 September		
7.30 am – 8.45 am	Resources Minister breakfast	
7.00 am 0.10 am	International strategic mineral partnerships	
	The Hon Madeleine King MP Minister for Resources; Minister for Northern Australia	
	His Excellency Mr Wan-joong Kim Ambassador of the Republic of Korea to Australia	
	His Excellency Mr Manpreet Vohra High Commissioner of India to Australia	
	Jennifer Hewett (Facilitator) National Affairs Columnist Australian Financial Review	
	Chair: David Moult, Chief Executive Officer, Yancoal Australia	
	Venue: Federation Ballroom, Hyatt Hotel Canberra	
9.00 am – 9.30 am	Keynote address (virtual presentation)	
	A shifting security landscape – implications for the Asia Pacific	
	Admiral Dennis Blair Former Director of National Intelligence; Former Commander US Pacific Command US Navy (Ret.)	
	Chair: Amanda Lacaze, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, Lynas Rare Earths	
	Venue: Canberra Room, Hyatt Hotel Canberra	
9.30 am – 10.30 am	Panel discussion	
	Indigenous business opportunities - the next 30 years	
	Sharon Gray Group Manager, Indigenous and Social Inclusion CPB Contractors	
	Rowena Leslie President Goldfields Aboriginal Business Chamber	
	Chair: Cassandra McCarthy, Corporate Affairs – Australia, Glencore	
	Venue: Canberra Room, Hyatt Hotel Canberra	
10.30 am – 11.00 am	Morning Tea	







11.00 am – 11.30am	Keynote address
	Senator Susan McDonald Shadow Minister for Resources; Shadow Minister for Northern Australia
	Chair: Paul Flynn, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Whitehaven Coal
	Venue: Canberra Room, Hyatt Hotel Canberra
11.30 am – 12.15pm	Keynote address + report launch
	Diversifying the decarbonisation portfolio: Lessons from Canada
	"Climate action plan: progress report 2023"
	Dr Chris Keefer President Canadians for Nuclear Energy
	Chair: Mike Erickson, MCA Board Member
	Venue: Canberra Room, Hyatt Hotel Canberra
12.30pm – 1.30 pm	Leader of the Opposition lunch
	The Hon Peter Dutton MP Leader of the Opposition
	Chair: Gerhard Veldsman, Chief Executive Officer, Roy Hill
	Venue: Federation Ballroom, Hyatt Hotel Canberra
1.45 pm – 2.45 pm	Panel discussion
	Safety – fatality prevention in Australian mining
	Dr Sean Brady Managing Director Brady Heywood
	Mark Parcell Director/Senior Consultant Mine Safety Institute of Australia
	Geraldine Slattery President Australia BHP
	Simon Trott Chief Executive Officer, Iron Ore Rio Tinto
	Chair: Michael Wright, Executive Chair & CEO, Thiess
	Venue: Canberra Room, Hyatt Hotel Canberra







2.45 pm – 3.30 pm	Keynote address
	The new workplace ground rules
	Professor Andrew Stewart Professor of Law University of Adelaide
	Chair: Mia Gous, Senior Vice President – Australia, Newmont
	Venue: Canberra Room, Hyatt Hotel Canberra
3.30 pm – 4.00 pm	Afternoon Tea
4.00 pm – 5.00 pm	Panel discussion
	Perceptions, pathways and potential: inspiring the next generation of geoscientists critical to net zero
	Dr Steven Rogers (virtual) School of Geography, Geology and the Environment Keele University
	Sophie Allen Honours student Monash University
	Isabelle Welstead Undergraduate student Melbourne University
	Chair: Dr Peter Betts, School of Earth, Atmosphere and Environment, Monash University
	Venue: Canberra Room, Hyatt Hotel Canberra
5.00 pm – 5.15 pm	Closing address
	Tania Constable Chief Executive Officer Minerals Council of Australia
	Venue: Canberra Room, Hyatt Hotel Canberra